Have you des poids?

Yes we are talking Franglais or Frenglish and we are talking about putting on weight – lots of weight. It’s a real battle when one is on the dark side of 60 and one loves food.

It is this exact love of food that I am questioning. I fear it has become an obsession. When does one move from a gourmet to a gourmand or when does one become addicted to food rather than they just like their tucker.

I knocked off lots of averdupois a couple of years ago on what we lovingly call “The Fat Farm’. Since then, however a few things happened such as the prolonged illness and subsequent death of my mother. I sat beside her for two weeks and watched her die. It was a miserable , painful death and nothing we could do made it easier for my mother. I wanted her suffering to end and so did she but you still have to wait. Differences also occur within the family. It is all very complicated, emotional communicating but it is a time when we all have to be flexible and tolerant of other people’s wishes.

Food gave me and continues to give me comfort as I haven’t really grieved for my mother. I don’t know how to.

Ok so I know why I am eating so much, so why can’t I change and modify my behaviour. THAT’S the part I do not understand.

 

About She just wants to dance.

I seem to have haf two lives - one i was a wife, mother lived in a beautiful old house and had a beautiful little daughter. Then my husband died after a long illness and things changed. I was diagnosed with Parkinson's but still managed to party and dance through life. Now 11 years on it all seems so far away. I now live by the beach in a beautiful apartment, swim, paint, play drums and hang out with my beautiful grown up daughter. The Parkinson's gives me the shits but I manage it. I listen to music, still cry when I miss my husband - don't have another man in my life but I tried. Life is good but there is always something that gets in the way of real happiness. Anyway I do believe in the need for melancholy and not eternal happiness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment